Maryland Cell Phone Laws

Maryland recently enacted a set of laws concerning cell phone use while driving. Every driver on the road is forbidden from talking or texting on a handheld phone while driving. Drivers with full, unrestricted licenses are permitted to use Bluetooth, speakerphone, or a wireless headset to make a call while driving. Drivers under 18 or those with a provisional license are prohibited from making any type of call while driving, including hands-free calls.

Maryland texting laws are considered primary laws and Maryland cell phone laws are considered secondary laws. A primary law means an officer can pull you over for the offense without witnessing another offense. For example, if you are texting while following every other traffic law, an officer can still pull you over. A secondary law means that an officer can only pull you over for the offense if you are committing another offense. For example, if you are talking on a handheld phone, an officer cannot pull you over unless you are breaking another law, like speeding. That being said, if an officer pulls you over for breaking another law, you can get a ticket for the original offense and the cell phone offense.

In Maryland, the fine for making a call with a handheld phone while driving is $40 for a first offense and $100 for subsequent offenses. The fines for texting while driving vary but cannot exceed $500.

We handle Maryland's traffic cases on a daily basis and we've been doing it for more than 20 years. Call the Law Offices of David L. Ruben today for a free consult (410) 766-4044.