Cell Phone Violations in Maryland | What You Need to Know
September 8th, 2020
Everybody knows that it's wrong to use a cell phone while driving, however, sometimes, people make the mistake of doing so. We live in a world of distractions, and it's not always easy to avoid them. Unfortunately, if you are caught using your cell phone while driving, you face a wide array of potential consequences. Please continue reading and reach out to our experienced Maryland traffic violations attorney to learn more about cell phone violations and how we can help you fight your charges. Here are some of the questions you may have:
What are the consequences of a cell phone violation in Maryland?
If you have recently been caught on your cell phone while driving, particularly if you were caught talking on the phone, you are looking at various penalties, though generally speaking, you will most likely not receive points on your license, unless your cell phone usage contributed to an accident. That being said, you may still face high fines. For a first offense, you will most likely face a $75 fine, for a second offense, you will most likely face a $125 fine, and for the third offense, you may face a $175 fine. Furthermore, you should understand that if you receive a cell phone violation ticket and you are under the age of 18, you will most likely have your license suspended for up to 90 days. Rather obviously, if you have a job, this can drastically impact your ability to retain employment, which is why you must contact a Maryland traffic violations attorney as soon as you can.
What happens if I am caught texting while driving in Maryland?
If you are caught texting while driving in Maryland, you will most likely face even harsher penalties. Not only will you receive a $500 fine, but you will also receive a misdemeanor. You will also receive one point on your driving record, which may cause your insurance premiums to skyrocket, which will essentially result in you paying for your ticket for months, or even years to come. You should also note that if you are under the age of 18 and are charged with texting while driving, you will most likely receive a 90-day license suspension.
Contact our experienced Maryland firm
Here at the Ruben Law Firm, we understand how much your legal situation means to you. That is why we pledge to provide you with the personalized attention you deserve, every step of the way. Our firm is more than happy to assist you through matters of personal injury law, bankruptcy, family law, criminal defense, and estate planning. Attorney Ruben has helped clients achieve favorable results in a wide array of legal matters for years, and he is ready to do the same for you. Simply contact the Ruben Law Firm today.
Categories: Criminal Defense